Lalit Upadhyay And Four Forwards Have Been Ruled Out From Asian Champions Trophy

Lalit Upadhyay and four other forwards have been ruled out from Asian Champions Trophy being held next month in Chennai. Manpreet Singh will be the part of Indian hockey team as a defender in the Showcase tournament.  

India announced their squad for Asian Champions Trophy on Tuesday and the announcement proved to be a bolt from the blue for Lalit Kumar Upadhyay along with four other forwards as they have been excluded from the squad.

Harmanpreet Singh will lead the team while Hardik Singh has been declared the vice-caption. PR Sreejesh and Krishan Bahadur Pathak will play the role of goalkeeper. 

Amit Rohidas, Vivek Sagar Prasad, and Manpreet Singh also will serve the team in the tournament starting at Mayor Radhakrishnan Stadium on August 3. 

The other four forwards who have been with the team Squad in Spain but will not be part of the team in the Asian Champions Trophy are Abhishek, Pawan, Dilpreet Singh, and Simranjeet Singh. 

India will play against China on August 3 in their opening encounter. It will face Japan and then Malaysia in the second and third games. The next opponent will be reigning Champion South Korea and the last match of the Pool stage will be against arch-rival Pakistan 

This tournament is considered to be part of the preparation for the Hangzhou Asian Games which will also be a qualifying tournament for the Paris Olympics.

Indian Chief Coach Craig Fulton said that they have chosen the squad that has the potential to do something special for the team.

He further said that this team is a combination of youth and experience. He said that they will start the journey towards Spain to take part in the 100th Anniversary Spanish Hockey Federation International Tournament and then they will come back directly to play at home.

Since the tournament was held for the first time in 2011, India and Pakistan have been the most successful teams. Both teams have won three times each. South Korea is the only team other than India and Pakistan that won the edition.

MOVETOPOST has collected this information

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *